Roll Out Cookies

Well, well, well. Look who it is!

Hello, friends. It’s been quite some time. Happy October! I went on some vacations toward the end of the summer and lost my mojo for this by the time I got back. But here I am! For now…..

Today I decided to do some experimenting and thought it would be a good idea to document it to restart this blog. Life is a little all over the place right now so I can’t guarantee that I will be producing recipes as often as I did, but I will try my best to share at least one per week! I have a few different cookie recipes that I will post within the next few entries, so consider it a “cookie week” type of theme.

Starting off, I recently purchased a set of cookie cutters that I never used so I thought I would change that and make football-themed cookies. Of course it’s football season, so why not? Plus, my Alma Mater is undefeated!! So I’m in ultimate football mode. Love those Scarlet Knights.

Anyway, I can’t decide if these are sugar or butter cookies. I say butter; my parents say sugar. Either way, they are pretty good with tea/coffee (or frappe if you’re like me :)) and don’t require too much.

You’ll need:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg

Steps:

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In an electric stand mixer, beat butter until smooth. Then add the sugar until whipped thoroughly.

3. Beat your egg in a small bowl then add to the mixture. Once it is mixed in completely, add vanilla and continue to mix on medium power.

4. In another bowl, combine baking powder and flour. Lower the mixer speed and begin to slowly sprinkle in the dry combination until dough is formed.

5. Divide the dough into two balls. Flour your surface/rolling pin and roll each piece to about 1/8in deep.

6. Using your choice of cutters, make your cookies and place onto cookie sheets.

7. Bake for 8-10 minutes then cool.

I also made my own cookie glaze, as you can see from the pictures. All you need for that is 3 ingredients; 2 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar, 2 tablespoons corn syrup, and 4 tablespoons milk. Combine all of the ingredients and you get a nice white covering (add more milk if you want the icing more liquid-y). You can also add a few drops of food coloring to change the colors. Have fun with it!

 

Enjoy! Gimme some oven lovin’.

One thought on “Roll Out Cookies

Leave a Reply

