Ladybug Bites

First of all, how adorable are these?! I love creating foods that look as good as they taste and these ladybug bites are no exception. If you’re having some company over on a hot day, throw in some of these appetizers to get a refreshing, cool taste of summer. Plus, your guests will adore the time you put into making them (even though it looks a lot more tedious than it really is)! Not having any guests? Treat yourself anyway; they’re that good.

As you can see, I’ve discovered how to incorporate pictures into these blogs. Amateur move, but better late than never! Let’s get to it.

You’ll need:

  • I container (8oz) sour cream
  • 1 can of small pitted black olives
  • 1 packet (10oz) of chopped spinach (thawed and squeezed dry)
  • 1 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1 container of grape or cherry tomatoes
  • 1 packet of crackers
  • 1 packet of Lipton’s Recipe Secrets Vegetable dip
  • Black gel and/or paste food coloring
  • Fresh chive or parsley pieces (2 per cracker)

Similar to my strawberry delights recipe, the quantity is purely up to you. Any dip that remains can be served with the crackers alone, any other type of chip (especially pita chips, mmm) or even vegetables.

  1. In a medium size bowl, combine vegetable packet, mayonnaise, sour cream, and spinach. Mix (with a spoon) until all ingredients are well blended. It should look like the picture below. Once it’s ready, pop it in the fridge to chill for 1-2 hours.
  2. While the dip is chilling, you can begin your prep for the remainder of the appetizer. Wash your tomatoes and cut them into quarters. You can make two ladybugs with one tomato, so cut half of the number of crackers you have.
  3. Cut the chives/parsley in 1inch pieces. Put those, the olives, and the tomatoes aside.
  4. Now it’s time to put everything together! I did an assembly type line at my counter. The picture below shows the steps I took when putting the ladybug together.
    Spread the dip on the cracker, pop an olive at one end, spread two tomato pieces coming from the “head” to form the “wings”, draw dots with the black gel, then put two chive/parsley pieces in the olive to serve as the antennas. Guess what? You’re done!

You can either put them back in the fridge (carefully!) or display them for your guests. Either way, sneak a bite and enjoy your work. You deserve it! 🙂

      

Now gimme some oven lovin’!

12 thoughts on “Ladybug Bites

  1. Pingback: Greek Week: Greek Pizza « gimme some oven lovin'

  2. They are cute. I’m going to make them for our next church ladies’ get-together.
    I’m trying to increase the variety of things my family eats. I feel like I’ve been making the same meals for the past 40 years. I like simple and fast recipes when I can get them. This will make a great snack.
    Thank you for liking my blog. I have a couple recipes I plan to add. You never know what I might use, but I hope everything will be informative, humorous, or interesting.

Leave a Reply

