Decorating

I like to consider myself a creative person. I’ve always been very much into art and craft making. I’m inspired by objects, colors, and designs that strike the eye in memorable ways and I greatly enjoy completing projects that do just that. Though I haven’t consumed myself in as much art making as I would have liked within the last few years, I find myself getting back into the habit of experimenting with various media and textures. One of those includes decorating desserts; something that I have never done before, despite my desire to do so.

So a few days ago, I went on over to Michael’s (which, by the way, is the greatest store ever made for someone like me. Seriously, heaven on earth) and purchased, among other things, Chef Duff’s decorating kit. Since I’m an amateur at this stuff, I figured starting off with a kit like this that contained all the pieces I’d need was a perfect purchase. Plus, it was on sale. I mean, come on. Love!

This kit includes 6 decorating tips, 4 couplers, and 5 disposable decorating bags, as well as a little case to hold everything neatly in. What a cutie. That day I also stopped at my local grocery store and grabbed the cheapest container of icing and waxed paper. You’ll see why.

I was really excited to start decorating and knew that, though I like to think it’s true, I am no Picasso. My hands pick up on techniques fairly quickly, but this is a type of art that I had never tried before so it was going to need some getting used to. I packed my first decorating bag and began doodling.

As you can see from the picture, I doodled a bit. I only used three of the six tips, though two of them look very similar to each other on the paper.

The waxed paper was marvelous because I was able to scoop all the icing up once I was done and put it back into the container. Now I can just reuse the same material for when I practice, and worry about getting the good stuff when I’m ready to decorate actual food.

I still have a lot to learn but this was a fun first time. If you have any kids, this is a great way to keep them busy while you work away in the kitchen. You can even make it a little contest and give the winning design a yummy treat! Be creative; it goes a long way.

One thought on “Decorating

Leave a Reply

