Greek Week: Orchard Chicken Salad

Welcome to Greek Week! Yesterday, I told you all about a Cypriot cheese called Halloumi that I loooove. Since I included that into the delicious little bacomelets, I thought I would do a whole week of foods that either are Greek or include at least one Greek ingredient. I guess this is technically day 2 of this, but since Halloumi was “optional” in the last recipe, today’s meal will officially begin the Greek Week experiment.

I know I recently posted a salad recipe, but my fellow blogger Liz made a request for chicken salad so this is dedicated to her. I hope you all like it as much as I do!

You’ll need:

  • 3-4 cups of shredded chicken
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup red grapes, halved
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup chopped celery
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • salt and pepper to your liking

Steps:

  1. Combine mayonnaise, Greek yogurt, mustard, honey, and lemon juice in a bowl. Whisk until well blended.
  2. Add in the cranberries, celery, grapes, walnuts, and chicken. Toss until completely coated. 
  3. Season with salt and pepper (I used 1/2 teaspoon of each).
  4. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour.

How you want to eat it is up to you. You can serve it over greens, on toast, in a wrap, or in a croissant as I did. I had enough for 6 sandwiches with extra still remaining for a salad. It’s yummy and doesn’t require too much.


Bon appetit! Or as we say in Greek, kali orexi! Gimme some oven lovin’.

One thought on “Greek Week: Orchard Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

