Greek Week: Baklava

The day has come! I’m finally sharing one of the world’s most loved desserts’ recipe. Though the traditional baklava is made with layers of phyllo dough, this recipe is much easier, cheaper, and amateur-friendly for all of my anxious and hungry readers. It just finished baking and the smell has invaded my home. My mouth is salivating as I write this. Warning — this is a very sweet and sugar-filled dessert! You’re in the wrong place if you’re someone that’s watching what you’re eating 🙂

I won’t lie, this is one of my sloppiest dishes. Lucky for me, it tastes a lot more delicious than it looks. Practice makes perfect, don’t forget that!

You’ll need:

  • 2 (8oz) cans of crescent dinner rolls (Pillsbury, store brand, etc.)
  • 3 cups walnuts, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

glaze:

  • 1 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 teaspoons lemon juice

Note — I like my baklava gooey and very moist. If you don’t like too much syrup, cut the glaze ingredients in half.

Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Open one can of crescent rolls and press the dough on the bottom of a 13×9 pan. I used an aluminum one but any kind works. I like this one because I can just throw it away and not have to worry about the messy clean up! Make sure there are no gaps and even push up about half an inch on the side to create a bowl-type crust.

3. Bake in the oven for 5 minutes.

4. While the crust is baking, prepare the mixture. In a medium size bowl, combine the walnuts, sugar, and cinnamon. Mix well.

5. Spread the mixture evenly throughout the pan.

6. Open the other can of crescent rolls and roll out one big piece of dough. Place it on top of the walnut mixture and press out to the edges of the pan.

7. Using a sharp knife, score out lines length-wise and diagonally to create diamond shaped pieces. Set side.

8. In a small saucepan, bring glaze ingredients to a boil.

9. Poor half of the syrup evenly throughout the pan and set the other half in a small bowl on the side.

10. Bake for 20-25 minutes, depending on your oven and dough. Remove from oven when the crust is golden.

11. Spoon remaining syrup over the cooked baklava to soak in. Refrigerate, cut, and enjoy!

I would love to hear if any of you have made this or any other recipe I’ve provided. Let me know! And be sure to gimme some oven lovin’.

3 thoughts on “Greek Week: Baklava

Leave a Reply

