Cookies ‘n Cream Truffle Pops

These are some big words to say, but I think I enjoy oreos more than I do s’mores. Actually, I don’t think. I know I absolutely do. So to stick to the pop theme that I said I would do this week, I decided to share an easy and, of course, delectable recipe for one of my favorite treats; cookies ‘n cream truffle pops.

The first time I ever had one of these, I was at a Thanksgiving feast party and one of the guests had brought them. While they were just truffles (and not pops), they were more delicious than you could even imagine! I asked her for the recipe and have since then changed it up to make it my own. I give you the same support to experiment and find ways to make it your own as well. Change the chocolate, add sprinkles/toppings, etc. I like simplicity but be creative!

As you will see, I made 9 pops with this recipe. You can easily make more but I made the truffles a bit bigger than I normally do, only for selfish reasons. I like to tell myself that if they are bigger, I will eat less of them and in turn feel better about myself. It’s completely foolish. Don’t judge me.

You’ll need:

  • 10 Oreos, crushed
  • 4 oz Cream cheese, room temperature
  • Wilton’s candy melts
  • Lollipop sticks
  • Styrofoam board/pop stand
  • serving size: 12 pops

Steps:

1. Crush your oreos! I found the best technique for me is to put them in a zip-lock bag then pound them with a meat tenderizer. It’s fast and crumbles them completely. Put them in a medium size bowl when you’re done.

2. Add your cream cheese. While it’s not essential that the cheese be room temperature, it does make the next step A LOT easier. Using a fork, blend in the cheese and oreos until it looks like chocolate cream cheese.

3. Using a teaspoon, spoon out a small amount and round it off with your hands to create balls. Place on a piece of waxed paper.

4. Once you have all the balls set, place your tray in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. The longer you have them in there, the easier the dipping will be.

5. Melt your chocolate in 30 second increments. Depending on how many truffles you made, estimate 3 candy melts per ball. You can use white chocolate, milk chocolate, mint chocolate, etc. I used both white and milk.

6. Now you’re ready for the last step! Hint — Dip your stick in the melted chocolate before inserting it into your truffle. This will help the truffle stay on the stick since the chocolate will harden. Then dip the pop into the chocolate and smooth with the back of a spoon. Place on your styrofoam board/pop stand and continue the process until all are finished.

If you want to add any other toppings, do so while the chocolate is still melted. You can crush more oreos and dip the pops in those or sprinkles if you wish. If you don’t want any other toppings, you can wait until the chocolate hardens then drizzle another flavor on top. Try white chocolate on milk chocolate pops or milk on white chocolate pops. It not only gives it a unique taste, but also looks pretty fancy!

Again, wrap in a lollipop bag and tie off with ribbon. It’s another great gift/favor! Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some truffle pops to eat. Gimme some oven lovin’.

4 thoughts on “Cookies ‘n Cream Truffle Pops

  1. Pingback: Brownie Pops « gimme some oven lovin'

Leave a Reply

