Sauteed Onion Pork Chops

photo 2

You know that feeling of satisfaction that you get after eating something that you’ve been wanting to eat for a while? Like craving something sweet and finding the perfect chocolate dessert with caramel, or wanting something salty and indulging in rolls and rolls of sushi dipped in soy sauce? Well, I woke up this morning craving… pork chops. Weird. Don’t ask me why. I had no specific way that I wanted them cooked. I just wanted to eat them. A lot of them. So I checked the pantry, found some onions and spices, and went to town.

You’ll need:

photo 1

  • 1lb boneless pork chops
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper for seasoning

Steps:

1. Wash your pork chops and set aside on a plate. Season with salt and pepper and any other spices you enjoy. I added a bit of cinnamon as I always do.

2. Prepare yourself, it’s time to cut the onion. Peel the outside and cut the onion vertically in 1/4in sections. Once you have your big circles, cut the same width horizontally to create strips. Throw your pieces in a bowl with 1 tbsp of oil. Mix thoroughly to coat all over.

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

3. Use your other tbsp of olive oil in a pan. Set it to medium-low heat (mine was at a 4 out of 10 setting) and after a couple of minutes, gently add your pork chops to the pan.

photo 5

4. After about 2-3 minutes, flip your pork chops over to cook the other side. Wait another 3ish minutes, then flip again. You’re going to repeat this 3 times. I know it’s kind of odd but I find this to be very successful in not only cooking the meat completely but also keeping it juicy.

image

5. Add your onions to the blank areas between the chops. Meanwhile, you’re still going to be flipping the meat every 3 minutes.

image_1

At this point, I like to stack the chops to stir the onions then flip the pieces afterward. Keep doing this for another 2 or 3 flips.

image_2

6. Once your onions brown and get soft, plop them on top of the meat, lower the heat (2 out of 10) and cover with a lid for 5 minutes. You’ll see that a thin gravy-like broth formed and the food is ready.

image_4

image_5

Grab a plate, pick a piece, spoon over some onions and broth, and enjoy. YUM.

photo 1

photo 4

Gimme some oven lovin’.

7 thoughts on “Sauteed Onion Pork Chops

  1. A just in time recipe–my kids have been asking me to make pork chops and I’m not the best pork chop cooker! But this looks so easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I didn’t wake up hungry for chops, but now I am. I am a fan of simple and delicious – this recipe looks to fit the bill perfectly. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Sauteed Onion Pork Chops | The Recipe Hunter

Leave a Reply

