Road Trip

image_29Hello friends. I was MIA for a few days because I spent the last week traveling part of the country. My journey began in New Jersey and went through Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana and Illinois before returning back home. We explored Chicago, Pittsburgh, and Harrisburg and had a wonderful experience at each location. I took a bunch of pictures of the land but slacked in the food department. I’ll share some of what I have!

Chicago:

image_17

We went to Taste of Chicago which had tons of food, drinks, and music.

image_32

We also found this great area that had an outdoor concert by my new friends The Hot Sauce Committee. There we had fried calamari (the first of many), salads, and spruced it up with some fruity drinks. They also gave us a bread basket with a DELICIOUS olive spread. I think I may make my own variation and share it in the near future.

image_40

image_41

image_42

image_39

image_36

We also went to the top of the Willis Tower and took pictures on the skydeck. Holy. Crud. It was pretty scary up there! But the view was beautiful and totally worth the hour+ wait.

image_26

image_9

You can’t be Greek and not visit Greektown. We went to a highly recommended restaurant called Greek Islands and even met a waiter from my parents’ island. Small world. There, we had taramosalata, fried calamari (again), grilled octopus, souvlaki with vegetables, and rice. Even though it was 80 degrees, I got my favorite soup. It’s called avgolemeno and it was worth the extra heat.

image

image_19

image_18

image_2

Untitled

image_3

There is a chain in the city called Corner Bakery Cafe which is scrumptious! It reminded me a lot of Panera Bread but I actually think I like it more.

image_20

image_21

image_22

image_23

Pittsburgh:

image_4

We took a trolley up the mountain and ate at a restaurant overlooking the city. How beautiful is that view?

We ate spinach and artichoke dip, fried calamari (told you we ate it a lot), a buffalo chicken sandwich, and a gyro.

image_11

image_10

image_13

image_14

Harrisburg:

The highlight of this city was the crepes. They were easily the best I’ve ever had and the atmosphere of the restaurant made it just THAT much better. The place was called Au Bon Lieu and I highly recommend it to anyone in the area. The chef and server were so friendly and even gave us a free crepe! The tables were coated in blackboard material and they provide chalk to pass the time. I can still taste the Nutella and banana. MMMMMM. I can’t wait to go back!

image_4

image_5

image_3

2 thoughts on “Road Trip

  1. Pingback: Nutella Crepes | gimme some oven lovin'

Leave a Reply

