Homemade Guacamole

photo 5

I could eat avocados every single day and be happy for the rest of my life. I like it in, on, and all around my food. Today I made my own homemade guacamole that is being devoured as I write this. Oops.

You’ll need:

photo 1

  • 2 medium avocados
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tomato, diced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Steps:

1. In a medium bowl, smash avocados. You can either use the back of a fork or a potato masher if you have one. When it’s soft and mushy, add the lemon juice.

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

2. Dice tomatoes into quarter inch pieces. Mix them into the guac.

image

image_1

3. Add spices to the bowl. You can use more or less than the called for amount. You can also add any spices you enjoy or take away any that you dislike. In addition, you have the option of adding onions, garlic, jalapenos, and other ingredients that some enjoy in their guacamole. I like it plain which is why I didn’t include those but play around and incorporate whatever you desire.

4. Chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour then serve.

photo 1

You can eat this alone or with chips, pretzels, carrots, crackers, celery sticks, sandwiches, salad, burgers, baked potatoes, rice, bacon, or quite frankly, ANYTHING.

photo 4

image

Gimme some oven lovin’.

5 thoughts on “Homemade Guacamole

  1. I realize it has been waaaay to long since I’ve had guacamole…must make it again. I typically add some chopped red chilli and cilantro to mine. Fabulous idea to add cinnamon – must try that!

Leave a Reply

