Monsters’ Inc Cake

photo 1 

My little brother is not so little anymore. We celebrated his 19th birthday this past weekend with family, presents, and of course, food. What did you get him, Christa? Great question, made up reader, but I didn’t get him anything; I MADE him a surprise birthday cake.

Let’s face it; it doesn’t matter how old you are, Monsters’ Inc is a fantastic movie. One of my brother’s favorites, in fact, which is why I made him a Mike Wazowski cake. I had never done a cake boss-style dessert before, and it took soo much longer than I was expecting. It’s nowhere near perfect, but everyone, especially my brother, loved it. I was super relieved!

The cake itself was funfetti with Nutella buttercream frosting (and a secret layer of Nutella by itself, mmm), while the legs and arms were made from fondant. Boy, that fondant was exhausting to mix. My forearms were burning for hours. And for the record, my sister was the best taste tester I could have asked for, so thank you for your help, Elena!

I took some pictures throughout the process. I’ve already gotten requests for other cakes and I look forward to practicing and getting better with each one!

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 2

photo 3

Happy birthday, Yianni!

Gimme some oven lovin’.

5 thoughts on “Monsters’ Inc Cake

Leave a Reply

