Mushroom Onion Tart Shells

photo 5

If you’ve been following me for some time, you know that I like small, bite size foods. Desserts, appetizers, meals, whatever. My family and friends make fun of me constantly for cutting my food into tiny pieces. Even mini options like grapes and m&ms get at least 3 bites each from me. I don’t know why I do this. I guess it makes me think I have more food. My brain is special.

Anyway, I’ve used these fillo shells a few times in past recipes. They’re just so cute and delicious and make appetizers super easy to create. Today’s filling is similar to this mushroom cream sauce, though there are a couple of differences. I think either mixture can be put into the shells to make something quick and easy for your next gathering.

You’ll need:

photo 1

  • 1 package of mini fillo shells, thawed
  • 1 can of mushroom pieces
  • 1 tbsp ricotta cheese
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small-medium onion
  • salt/pepper/spices for seasoning

Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cover a cookie sheet with foil and space out your fillo shells.

2. Cut your onion into thin slices, about 1/4in. Then cut the rounds vertically so they create little pieces, again about 1/4in.

photo 2

photo 3

3. In a skillet, combine olive oil and onions over medium-low heat (4 out of 10 setting on mine).

photo 4

4. Once the onions start browning, drain your mushroom can and add the pieces to the skillet. Season with salt, pepper, or any other spices you enjoy. Cinnamon. MMMM.

photo 5

5. When the combination is soft and golden, remove from heat and transfer the filing into a bowl. Take a heaping tbsp of ricotta cheese and mix it in the bowl so everything is coated evenly.

image

image_1

6. Fill the fillo shells with the filling. Bake for 6-8 minutes.

image_2

Remove when the shells are golden and flaky.

photo 1

photo 3

photo 4

Feel free to sprinkle with additional cheese. I had feta crumbles that really created a great taste when combined with the other flavors. Other yummy options are grated Parmesan or Asiago.

image

Gimme some oven lovin’.

One thought on “Mushroom Onion Tart Shells

Leave a Reply

