Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

image6
If I could pick one thing to eat every single week, it would definitely be buffalo chicken. I’m not sure why, especially since I only got into spicy-ish food in the last couple of years. Yet, for some reason, it’s my go-to in most restaurant outings, and one of my favorite things to make at home.

Today’s recipe involves a slow cooker. I bought a cheap little thing a long time ago, and while it gets the job done, I can’t wait until we get the gem we added to our wedding registry. I’m not sure when my surprise bridal shower is, but I sure do hope it’s soon so we can get all of our new goodies!

As always, this recipe is very customizable. I only put chicken and cheese, but you can easily add more ingredients. You can also make them with any kind of tortilla you wish: flour, corn, wheat, multigrain, gluten free, etc.

You’ll need:
fullsizerender

  • 1 lb chicken breast
  • 1 cup buffalo sauce (my favorite is Frank’s)
  • Shredded taco or Mexican blend cheese
  • Tortillas
  • Slow cooker

Step 1:
Slow cook your chicken with the sauce! Since my cheap little guy doesn’t have settings, I just put the chicken in and wait a while. If you have a regular cooker, set it for low and cook the chicken for about 3-4 hours (until it’s soft enough to shred with a fork).
Note – if you don’t have a slow cooker, you can just buy rotisserie chicken and shred that instead. Then put it in a bowl or bag and add the sauce to coat.
img_6614Step 2:
Shred the chicken and cook it for another 30 minutes in the sauce. This is where the chicken really soaks in the juice.
fullsizerender_1fullsizerender_3Step 3:
Here comes the assembly. Start with toasting one side of your tortilla for about 10-15 seconds on low-medium (mostly low) heat.
fullsizerender_2Step 4:
Flip the tortilla to toast the other side. At this time, add your cheese. The amount is purely based on preference. I like an even proportion of cheese and chicken, whereas my fiancé likes less cheese. You decide. I usually put about 1/4 cup for mine.
image1Step 5:
Add the chicken on one half of the tortilla. Again, as much or as little as you want. Flip the other half over to make a semi-circle.
image2Step 6:
Toast both sides. I like the tortillas to be a tad bit crispy, so I make sure I press down and flip it around a couple of times until it starts browning. If you decide to do this, make sure to put your spatula on the open side and flip upward so the chicken doesn’t go flying out. Doing this may still cause some stragglers, but that’s okay.
image3image4Serve with your choice of dipping. I eat mine with a mixture of ranch and Frank’s red hot sauce. Bleu cheese, sour cream, and alone are also popular choices.
image7image8

I love making a big batch of chicken and eating it for several meals. Though I mostly make quesadillas, it also tastes good with mashed potatoes or rice. Try it! And gimme some oven lovin’.

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

