Slow Cooked Beef and Potatoes

image6Happy November, my friends. This year has definitely flown, as it seems all do as you get older. Though the weather in NJ hasn’t been incredibly cold yet, it is slowly getting to be the time we start eating more soups, stews, and other warm dishes. Today’s recipe is a great “keep me warm” meal.

I got to use my new slow cooker for this. Remember when I mentioned how I was looking forward to my surprise bridal shower so I could get all of my new kitchen goodies? Well, it happened! As a matter of fact, it was just a few days after I made that post! It was beautiful and I’m so excited for all of our gifts. Let’s get started.

You’ll need:
fullsizerender

  • 1-1.5lbs beef cubes
  • 1 bag yukon gold potatoes
  • 1 cup baby carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 1 1/2 cups red wine
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder

Step 1:
Begin by slicing your onion into rings. I only used 1 but you can of course use more if you like them. If you don’t have baby carrots, slice them into 1-1.5in pieces now too.fullsizerender_1Step 2:
Cut your potatoes in half. These should also be around 1-1.5in each, so slice them up more if your potatoes are bigger than mine. fullsizerender_2Step 3:
It’s slow cooker time. Put about half of your onions on the bottom of the crockpot.
fullsizerender-copyStep 4:
Layer your beef cubes on top. I always wash the meat before I cook it, so if you do too then just make sure you pat them dry before putting them in the pot. Sprinkle your salt and pepper on top.
fullsizerender_3Step 5:
Add the potatoes, carrots, and remaining onions. Top with the other spices and any other ones you enjoy. I added a sprinkle of Old Bay 🙂image1Step 6:
Pour the wine over the top. It will settle onto the bottom but this at least coats the exposed pieces.
image2Step 7:
Cook on high for about 4 hours. If you have the time, you can cook it on low for about 7 hours. Everything should become soft and break apart with a fork.
image4image5This is a very filling and delicious meal. I hope you enjoy it! Gimme some oven lovin’.

 

One thought on “Slow Cooked Beef and Potatoes

Leave a Reply

